Top 5 things I miss from HPU

By Kirstie Pratt

Don’t get me wrong, studying abroad was the best decision I ever made, but when you go to a school as amazing as High Point University, there are bound to be a few things to miss. Here’s my top 5 things I miss most from HPU. 

1. Transportation on campus

I always drove my car anywhere I was going on campus, weither it was to class or a meeting or just a friend’s room, it was convient to drive myself. Obviously I couldn’t bring my car to England with me but let me tell you I wish I had the HPU trolleys. The hills here are unbelievable and walking just around our small little campus can get tiring. Walking into town just to get groceries and bring them back is my work out for the day. Now they do have public buses but they don’t have a stop too close to campus and you have to pay. I will definitely be using the trolleys a lot more when I come back in the spring. 

2. Magic Meals

We got lucky here in Winchester where we have a tiny meal plan. We get £40 a week on our student ID here to use at the dining locations on campus. The drawback to this is you pay everything separate. There’s no all you can eat for a swipe like at the cafe or farmers market. We have to pay for our sandwhich plus our fries and a drink. An average meal I eat is usually around £6, therefore barely one meal a day. We can use cash at these dining locations unlike HPU, but who really wants to do that? 

3. Free laundry 

I never realized why my brothers would always bring all their laundry home from college on breaks. I always had mine done and came home with clean clothes so I didn’t have to burden my mom to wash them for me. HPU gave us the luxury of free laundry in our tuition. I even had my own washer and dryer in my townhome last year that I only shared with one other person. I now understand the struggle of having to save your change and go do laundry at midnight when no one is in there. A single wash here is £2.20 and a dry is £1.20. In the U.S. that’s roughly $5, just for one load and I usually have around 2 or 3. Having free laundry is definitely going to be nice when I get back. 

4. The Petal Points

Singing has always been a huge part of my life since elementary school so of course I continued my passion into my college career. Freshman year I was selected to be in the premiere all female A Capella group at HPU named The Petal Points. These girls became my family right away and made my transition away from home so much easier. They’ve already had numerous gigs and have learned some new songs in my absence and I always stalk them wishing I was there. Getting to perform again with them in the spring is what I am most looking forward to when I get back to school in January. 

5. My friends

I came abroad with 3 really good friends from the Media Fellows Program and thank goodness I did because it’s so nice having people you get along with to hang out and travel with. I’ve also met some awesome people since being here that also go to HPU and others from England and all over Europe. Making new friends has been an amazing experience but there’s nothing like your best friends at school in the states to make you wish you were back there. My two best friends Ally and Sabrina  make sure to FaceTime me at least once a week, but it’s usually more. Thank goodness for technology or this would probably be a lot harder. I can’t wait to be reunited with them, my little, my sorority sisters, and all my friends back at HPU next semester! 

About Ryan Anderson

Welcome to my travel blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top 5 things I miss from HPU

  1. Susan Rabold says:

    Not sure who REALLY wrote this! Think it is Kirstie – Ryan wouldn’t have a little sister OR sorority sisters! : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

